Fix Your Sh*t: Volume 38

Cait Mack
2 min readJul 16, 2021

This week’s theme- the art of productivity.

Carl Heyerdahl

Productivity is something we’re all seeking. Many of us stay busy, but find we accomplished little of substance. So, with just 2 questions you’ll see how to create better to-do lists and eliminate procrastination.

What do I need to do? I get specific here. I need to finish 2 of my 6 phishing training videos. I need to do my upper body push/pull workout.

Why do I need to do it? Again, I get specific. I need to complete these videos to obtain my semi-annual certification and keep my day job which supports my family. I need to get my workout in to stay healthy and strong, because life is worthless without good health.

If you go to put something on your to-do list and don’t have great answers, move on. It doesn’t belong on your list. Everything on my to-do list has a very clear objective and purpose. If it doesn’t, it doesn’t go on the list.

And keeping a list to check off somehow manages to eliminate procrastination, like magic. You just start moving down your list. And by a certain time (let’s say 12pm) I want at least half of it done and by 8pm I want my entire list done. I rarely, if ever, carry anything over. This is today’s list- so just do it.

--

--

Cait Mack

I simplify everything so you can focus on crushing life FREE resources: caitmackcs.gumroad.com