Books & Booze: 2/27/22

Cait Mack
3 min readFeb 27, 2022

Your antidote to a week of chaos.

Viola Kovács

Throwing it back this week. A book from 2006, which was already 16 years ago. Yikes. And one from 1974. A fiction from 74!

Then 2 beers, of course. An end of winter IPA and an end of winter stout.

Let’s get to it!

Book

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt (2006)

What’s it about?

Freakonomics establishes this unconventional premise: If morality represents how we would like the world to work, then economics represents how it actually does work. It is true that readers of this book will be armed with enough riddles and stories to last a thousand cocktail parties. But Freakonomics can provide more than that. It will literally redefine the way we view the modern world.

Why you should read it

This was one of the first books I read as I was building my “foundation”. I wanted to understand myself and the world a little better. I’m rereading now for fun. It does not disappoint.

Book

The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier (1974)

What’s it about?

Jerry Renault ponders the question on the poster in his locker: Do I dare disturb the universe

--

--

Cait Mack

I simplify everything so you can focus on crushing life FREE resources: caitmackcs.gumroad.com